

Document Number:

Fourth Session of the Assembly 25-26 November 2020, Virtual

Agenda Item 1.2

Update on the Parties and Observers

1. Following the Third Session of the Assembly, Mongolia (1 July 2020) has deposited its instrument.

2. The list of Parties, as of 1 July 2020 are as below, in the order of date of deposit:

No.	Party	Date signed	Date of deposit of respective instrument
1	Republic of Korea	10 December 2015	4 November 2016
2	Viet Nam	17 October 2016	14 March 2017
3	Timor-Leste	20 June 2016	25 July 2017
4	Bhutan	13 September 2016	8 December 2017
5	Myanmar	31 July 2017	28 March 2018
6	Cambodia	16 February 2017	10 August 2018
7	Brunei Darussalam	8 May 2017	23 August 2018
8	Philippines	4 June 2018	20 February 2019
9	Lao PDR	13 March 2018	28 May 2019
10	Thailand	Accession	26 June 2019
11	Indonesia	2 August 2016	8 July 2019
12	Kazakhstan	Accession	4 September 2019
13	Mongolia	21 August 2017	1 July 2020

3. In accordance to Decision 2-I-18R, Singapore is Observer to AFoCO. Malaysia sent Letter of Intent (LoI) to become member of AFoCO dated 16 January 2020. Following the LoI of Malaysia, the Secretariat has taken necessary procedures in accordance to the Decision 3-I-18R and Rule 11.3 of Procedure of the Assembly. Malaysia was granted as Observer to AFoCO as of 24 March 2020.

4. Currently, all countries which participated in the dialogue for the establishment of AFoCO is on-board as Parties and Observers. The Assembly may give due consideration to develop strategy or plan through formation of a dialogue or forum on membership.

5. The Assembly may wish to take note of the information.