

Document Number:

A-23-9-2

Ninth Session of the Assembly 25-26 October 2023, Seoul, Republic of Korea

Agenda Item 3

Information on the list of Parties and Observers

1. The list of Parties, as of 1 October 2023 is as below, in the order of date of deposit:

No.	Party	Date signed	Date of deposit of respective instrument
1	Republic of Korea	10 December 2015	4 November 2016
2	Viet Nam	17 October 2016	14 March 2017
3	Timor-Leste	20 June 2016	25 July 2017
4	Bhutan	13 September 2016	8 December 2017
5	Myanmar	31 July 2017	28 March 2018
6	Cambodia	16 February 2017	10 August 2018
7	Brunei Darussalam	8 May 2017	23 August 2018
8	Philippines	4 June 2018	20 February 2019
9	Lao PDR	13 March 2018	28 May 2019
10	Thailand	Accession	26 June 2019
11	Indonesia	2 August 2016	8 July 2019
12	Kazakhstan	Accession	4 September 2019
13	Mongolia	21 August 2017	1 July 2020
14	Kyrgyzstan	Accession	30 August 2022

2. In accordance with Decision 2-I-18R, Singapore is an Observer to AFoCO. The Observer status of Singapore is for 5 years since 13 November 2018. The Assembly may further consider based on the intention of Singapore.

3. Following the intent from Malaysia to become a Party, Malaysia was granted Observer status to AFoCO as of 24 March 2020. Malaysia is currently taking domestic procedures for accession.

4. In accordance with Decision 3-I-18R Guidelines on the Application of Non-Signatory Countries to become Parties, the Republic of Tajikistan has sent a Letter of Intent (LoI) to become a Party to AFoCO dated 24 July 2023. Upon confirmation of no objection from all Parties, the Republic of Tajikistan was granted Observer Status on 13 October 2023.

5. The Assembly may wish to take note of the information and request Singapore to notify the Secretariat regarding its intention for further consideration of the Assembly.

Queries on the content of the document may be addressed to:

Kim Jimyung, Operations and Resource Team, Planning & Operations Division (T: +82 2 785 8962; E: jmkim@afocosec.org)